HHS Scholarships, Fellowships, and Program Awards

Social Work

Both Graduate or Undergraduate Students

    • Thomas B. Scullion International Program Award
      This program was established in 2000 with a gift from Dr. and Mrs. Thomas B. Scullion, his friends and colleagues. Dr. Scullion was Chair of the Social Work Department and co-planned the Joint Master of Social Work degree with NC A & T University. He was instrumental in forming a relationship between UNCG and Strathclyde University in Scotland.
      Eligible: This fund supports participation in international exchange programs with the Department of Social Work.
    • Bob Wineburg Endowed Scholarship in Community Services
      This award was established by Stacy Galligan Vogel in celebration of Dr. Robert J. Wineburg’s 25th year educating social workers and impacting communities around the nation.
      Eligible: Students in the Department of Social Work are eligible for this award. Preference is given to nontraditional students interested in community service.

Only Undergraduate Students

    • Mereb Mossman and Virginia Stephens Scholarship Fund in Social Work
      This award honors Mereb Mossman, who founded the Social Work Program and to honor Virginia Stephens upon her retirement.
      Eligible: This fund supports undergraduate students in the Department of Social Work, especially nontraditional students who are rising seniors who exhibit academic merit.
    • Lyda Gordon Shivers scholarship award
      This award was established in 1972 as a memorial tribute to Dr. Shivers, a longtime faculty member in the Department of Sociology.
      Eligible: The scholarship is awarded annually to an undergraduate student alternating between Social Work and Sociology.
    • Dorothy and Ike Stern and Saretta and Hyman Ruskin Memorial Scholarship
      This award was established by Dr. Jerry and Marnie Ruskin to honor their parents. Marnie Ruskin received her BS in Social Work in 1986.
      Eligible: The award supports an undergraduate student in the Department of Social Work emphasizing the study of gerontology.

Only Graduate Students

    • Jennifer Ann McLamb Whitaker Graduate Scholarship in the Joint Master of Social Work Program
      This award was established in 2016 with a gift from Rita Robbins who was Jennifer Ann McLamb Whitaker’s mother. Jennifer received her BS in Social Work from UNCG in 2000. She completed a master’s degree in 2003 and became a licensed social worker in 2005. She worked tirelessly to help people struggling with mental illness, focusing on those who could not afford private care. She passed away in 2015, following a lengthy battle with cancer.
      Eligible: Students in good academic standing in the Joint Master’s Degree Program in Social Work. Preference is given to students with a goal of becoming a board-licensed mental health professional. This award may be renewed for up to two years for full-time students and three years for a part time student.