2019 Alumni Awardees

Friends, family, and faculty gathered for the HHS Alumni Awards Luncheon in EUC Cone Ballroom on Saturday, Oct. 19, 2019 to celebrate and honor the many accomplishments of HHS alumni. The group enjoyed fellowship and delicious food provided by UNCG Catering.

After lunch, everyone was invited to enjoy sweet treats and live music at the HHS Alumni Dessert Social.

HHS wrapped up the day at the Homecoming Block Party on the EUC lawn. Despite chilly temperatures, the crowd was in good spirits. Students enjoyed some time taking photos, dancing, and chatting with faculty, staff, and alumni.

Below is a list of the HHS Alumni Awardees for 2019:

Emerging Leader Award
Dr. Cody Sanders, ’12 M.S., ’15 Ph.D.

Public Service Award
Dr. Kymm Ballard, ’08 Ed.D.

Distinguished Alumni Award
Dr. Saber Ghiassi, ’00 MPH

Lifetime Legacy Award
Dr. Beverly Warren ’70

HHS Pacesetter Awards

These awards honor outstanding alumni in the School of HHS who have attained local, state, or regional recognition through their achievements in scholarship, leadership, or service during their career or through civic involvement. Each Department selected a Pacesetter awardee to honor.

Dr. Shannon Frymark, ‘94 MA
Communication Sciences & Disorders

Leah Friend, ‘03
Community & Therapeutic Recreation

Dr. Nina Smith, ‘12 PhD
Human Development & Family Studies

Dr. Stephany Coakley, ‘06 PhD

Kelli Davidson, ‘14 MS

Sofia Mosquera-Rodriguez ‘18 MA
Peace & Conflict Studies

Sarah Langdon, ‘09 MPH
Public Health Education

Zackary Brooks, ‘93
Social Work

Alexis Carere, ‘09 MS
Genetic Counseling