2016-2017 Faculty & Staff Awardees

Ms. Diane Levine – HHS Outstanding Staff Award

diane devineThis award recognizes a member of the staff in HHS who provides outstanding leadership and service to our School that goes beyond the normal scope of their responsibilities.  This year’s awardee epitomizes those qualities.

Her nominators wrote that what distinguishes her from others is her unwavering devotion to duty, her work ethic, and her service to the School and University. She wholeheartedly welcomes new opportunities and responsibilities and is generous in sharing her expertise and successes with others.

Ms. Levine is in the HHS Office of Research

Dr. Tanya Coakley – The Contributions to Diversity and Inclusion Award

tanya coakly This award recognizes and rewards faculty and staff who make significant contributions to diversity, equity, and inclusion in health and human sciences professions.

This year’s award goes to a faculty person who works tirelessly in mentoring students, particularly students of color, to be successful graduates and effective researchers. Her example and leadership have helped us with our high retention/graduate rates especially for African American males.

Dr. Mike Perko – The HHS/UNCG Teaching Excellence Award

Mike Perko This award is made possible each year by the Office of the Provost. Faculty who receive this award are automatically nominated for the University Alumni Teaching Awards.  This year’s awardee views his classes as a community and his students as colleagues.

He thrives in the world of hundreds of relationships with outstanding students, in the richness of passing on knowledge, and in the celebration of graduating seniors year after year. Students speak of his “realness” and remember his encouragement to never doubt their abilities.

This year’s HHS Teaching Excellence Awardee is Dr. Mike Perko in the Department of Public Health Education.

Dr. Greg Daniels – The Mary Frances Stone Teaching Excellence Award

Greg Danials This award was established in 1957 by her parents, Clarence & Jane Stone, to honor their daughter Mary, class of 1947.  This award is available to any faculty member in the School of HHS.

Nominees said of this year’s Stone awardee that he taught much more than the material; he exemplified how a professional should look and act. Another student wrote “In a course that was considered “easy”, he turned the curriculum around and made the class worth my while, incorporating things we actually will need to know in life.”

Dr. Daniels is in the Department of Kinesiology.

Dr. Chris Rhea – The Jerry and Joan Morrison Tolley Gail M. Hennis Graduate Teaching Award

Chris Rhea This award is available for faculty in Communication Sciences and Disorders, Community and Therapeutic Recreation, Kinesiology and Public Health Education.  This year’s awardee has used accessibility and meaningfulness as guiding principles in all the courses he teaches.

Making Biomechanics meaningful to students is a challenge, but one that he met with great success. He tied biomechanics’ principles to current lay themes and the important work that is being conducted right now. Further, in his Research Methods course, he artfully meets the needs of advanced students and applies the material across many different sub-disciplines.

Dr. Rhea is in the Department of Kinesiology.

Dr. Sudha Shreeniwas – The HHS Community Engaged Scholarship Award

Sudha Shreeniwas

This award recognizes and rewards faculty who demonstrate excellence in scholarly engagement with community partners.  This year’s awardee’s community engaged research and outreach activities have involved several North Carolina organizations that provide family, health, and quality of life related services to diverse adult populations, ranging from seniors with cognitive diagnoses, to immigrant, ethnic minority groups.

In her teaching, research and community engagement, she partners with communities, peers, and students across departments and institutions, providing visibility to the needs of our local community.

Dr. Sudha Shreeniwasis from Department of Human Development and Family Studies.

Dr. Ron Morrison – The HHS Graduate Mentoring Award

Ron Morrison

This award recognizes and rewards faculty who demonstrate excellence in mentoring graduate students, by assisting them in clarifying and advancing their academic and professional goals. The recipient of this award will automatically be nominated for the UNCG Graduate School Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award.

This year’s awardee believes that a mentor should be willing to fully share their experiences, not only those in which they were successful, but more importantly, those in which they failed. He wrote that this is critical because mentees should also be allowed to experience their own failure, preferably in the safety of a trusted mentor who, in turn, guides them through the steps to perseverance.

Dr. Morrison is in the Department of Nutrition.

Dr. Louisa Raisbeck – The Junior Research Excellence Award

Louisa Raisbeck

This award recognizes a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in research and potential for gwell well-smth as a scholar. This year’s awardee is becoming a leader in her area due to the two lines of complimentary research that she has been developing. The first line of work is applied, looking at the influence of an external focus of attention in movement; here she is leading the charge to develop evidence-based practices for clinicians.

The second line of research focuses on understanding the mechanisms of motor learning using neuroimaging; specifically understanding how changes in the brain help facilitate changes in motor behavior.

Dr. Louisa Raisbeck is in the Department of Kinesiology

Dr. Jonathan Tudge – The Senior Research Excellence Award

Jonathan Tudge
This award recognizes faculty who demonstrate excellence in their research. This year’s awardee is nationally and internationally recognized for his scholarship focusing on children’s social, moral, and cognitive development as it unfolds across ecological contexts of race/ethnicity, social class, and country of origin.

His research program is noteworthy not only for its quality and productivity, but also for his success in forming research collaborations across the globe, bringing together academic minds from numerous cultures. His current research project, the Developing Gratitude Project, looks at how gratitude emerges and changes across childhood and adolescence and has the potential to yield findings that can improve the lives of young people.

Dr. Jonathan Tudge is in the Department of Human Development and Family Studies.